May Wrap-Up

Well, May is coming to a close and I am proud to say that amidst finals and finishing school I was able to complete a total of five books! My favorite read of the month was Fill-In Boyfriend (not pictured above) and my least favorite read was Meant to Be, although I still enjoyed it. Here are my ratings and overall thoughts on the books I read this month:

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge: 3.75/5 stars

Cruel Beauty is a fairy-tale retelling of Beauty and the Beast with a spin on Greek mythology that is unlike anything I have ever read before. The writing is exquisite and the world is extremely imaginative and interesting. This book truly exudes individuality. However, I found the plot rather predictable due to extensive foreshadowing and I also found myself bored in particular parts of this novel, which is the primary reason I deducted stars. Overall, a very solid, creative read!

The Heir by Kiera Cass: 4/5 stars

The Heir is the fourth book in Kiera Cass’ series, The Selection, following a new lead character, Eadlyn, as she participates in her own Selection. I immensely enjoy The Selection series and have found each book highly addictive and consistently entertaining. This book is no exception, certainly delivering its fair share of romance and drama. I took off a star because the lead character, Eadlyn, is extremely egotistical and selfish, and I also felt as if a few of the plot points were rushed at the end of the novel. I reviewed this book, so be sure to check it out!

The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West: 5/5 stars

There is no question in my mind that Kasie West writes perfect contemporaries. She is able to get to the point of the story during the first few pages of each of her books in order to give the readers what they want… the relationships! There are never filler scenes and the dialogue in each of her books is funny, cute, and realistic. The Fill-In Boyfriend opens as high school senior and student body president Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom. Desperate not to go alone, she begins to look around the parking lot and finds, well, a Fill-In Boyfriend. Mystery, cuteness, and adventure ensues post-prom in a character driven plot. Pick up a Kasie West book, you won’t regret it!

Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally: 3/5 stars

Although this was a fun read, the plot definitely felt unrealistic and cliche to me which made it difficult to connect with the characters. I was skeptical going into this book, I mean, a female quarterback on her high school’s male football team? Unlikely. But a female quarterback on her school’s all-boys football team who is respected and treated like one of the team who is also the best in the state and wanted by the best college football team in America? Yeah, right. This book was certainly predictable, but most cutesy contemporaries are. I loved the football element to the book, being a football fan myself, and I really appreciated that the author addressed the relevant topic of stereotypes throughout the book. Not my favorite of the month, but a fun read nonetheless.

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill: 3/5 stars

This book was an enjoyable read for me. A light contemporary about a school trip to London with a teeny bit of mystery and romance. Quite honestly, this book seemed to drag in several places and the true thing that kept me reading was my curiosity about Julia’s love triangle (square?). I thought that Julia’s character was rather contradictory and she frustrated me at times, and Jason was highly annoying and immature, but I ended up growing to at least like them by the end of the book. A predictable plot, but still a fun read if you are looking for something quick and easy to get through.

Published by

booksbybritt

certified fangirl, bibliophile, avid writer, music fanatic, vintage soul & daydreamer... 1 John 4:19

4 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up”

  1. The pictures you take for your posts are absolutely gorgeous! You’ve made me want to run out and buy a copy of Cruel Beauty and The Heir simply because of how pretty they are, haha. šŸ™‚

    Your rating of Cruel Beauty is interesting though, so far I’ve only seen that book get 4 and 5 stars from other bloggers, and despite the beautiful cover and the supposedly gorgeous imagery… I do feel like there’s something holding me back from buying it and I’m not sure what!

    Like

    1. Oh my goodness, thank you so much! I have a book account on Instagram that I post most of my pictures on, so I just use the same ones on this blog. As far as Cruel Beauty goes… I am a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast so naturally I was very interested in the book, but it just felt very predictable to me. If you are interested in reading a more in-depth review I have one posted to my Goodreads!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love to find a fellow bookstagrammer on wordpress! šŸ™‚ The pictures that go along with your reviews are gorgeous! I have a link to my bookstagram too on my blog (www.stacksandshelves.wordpress.com)

    Pictures of books = ā™„

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

