Review: The Heir

The-Heir_612x925

The Heir

By: Kiera Cass

Pages: 342

Genre: YA Dystopian Romance

Personal Age Rating: 13+

Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis: Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

My Review:

“I’m smart and beautiful and strong. I don’t need to be rescued.”

The Heir is just as I expected it to be: a quick read that is light, fun, and exciting. We are introduced to Maxon & America’s eighteen year-old daughter Eadlyn, a headstrong and determined heir to the throne of Illéa who wants nothing to do with marriage or relationships. However, circumstances require Eadlyn to hold her own Selection, and suddenly the palace is filled with 35 various suitors all competing for Eadlyn’s hand. Eadlyn just cannot seem to desire the happiness her parents found in the Selection twenty years ago.

The Selection series always leaves me feeling conflicted, because although I have issues with each book, I can never seem to put them down and I always enjoy them immensely. My major problem with The Heir was very simple: Eadlyn.


In the beginning of the novel (and throughout a good duration of it) Eadlyn is an egotistically, bratty girl who is only concerned about her own comfort and happiness. She is extremely calloused to the feelings of those around her (her maid, Neena, for example) and I honestly have no idea how America and Maxon could have raised such an ungrateful child. I think the quote above rests my case. However, toward the end of the story, Eadlyn finally began to realize that not only was she selfish, she was selfish and EVERYONE else thought so too. The first step in reversing a character flaw is acknowledging it, so here’s to hoping for some character development in the next book!

My other main problem with this book was the awkward pacing. The same thing happened in The One… very little climax throughout the entire novel minus the relationships, only to find a chaotic jumble of events in the last few chapters that should have been equally distributed throughout the novel or at LEAST some subtle foreshadowing at the events to come. I felt as if the events at the end of this book were very rushed and just thrown in there for a dramatic ending.

Issues aside, this book was very enjoyable to read. I loved seeing several of the characters from The Selection play such a big part in the story such as America, Maxon Marlee, Lucy, Aspen, May, and others, although it was strange to hear of Maxon’s graying hair and experience such a demure America. I was still having trouble at the end of the novel picturing them differently than the America and Maxon that met in The Selection. I really enjoyed seeing a Selection from the opposite spectrum, and seeing a girl be the one to choose instead of the boy. Speaking of the boys, there were several I really enjoyed! In America’s Selection, I was VERY particular about who I wanted her to be with, but I could honestly see Eadlyn with several boys in this book, although there is one I am rooting for! I will discuss that in the spoiler section! I read this book really quickly and enjoyed it very much. I am definitely looking forward to the next book!

Spoilers Below. Only continue reading if you have read the novel!

Okay so the boys! My personal favorite is Kyle. I love the relationship he has with Eadlyn because he is the only one of the boys who feels comfortable enough to put her in her place while still respecting her and being there for her. They have an equal share of power in their relationship, which is honestly perfectly set up. If Eadlyn wants to be with him, she will have to sacrifice some of her power, the thing she loves most. He is honestly the only one who I can see Eadlyn’s character having any personal and relational development with. Also, I love the fact that he is Marlee’s son! And I’m totally a sucker for romances that start as little kids who hate each other. The only problem with Kile is his desire to leave the castle. Considering Eadlyn is kind of bound to it, that could prove itself a potential problem.
My other favorite boy is Erik, just because he is someone unexpected who cares for Eadlyn who isn’t a part of The Selection. He is really the only other one I can see Eadlyn with. I like him, but not as much as Kile. I am totally Team Kile.

As for the other boys, I certainly love Henri. He is absolutely adorable and has a heart of gold. Although I doubt him and Eadlyn will end up together, I love the special respect they have for each other. Hale has never really been a contender in my opinion. I like him and think he is a great friend, but he’s not right for Eadlyn. Same for Fox And that Ean TOTALLY has an agenda. I’m not sure if he’s there for money, fame, or power, but there is a reason he is at the castle and it is not Eadlyn. I suspect he is somehow causing trouble and we will find out what in the next book.

Published by

booksbybritt

certified fangirl, bibliophile, avid writer, music fanatic, vintage soul & daydreamer... 1 John 4:19

Leave a Reply

