Review: P.S. I Still Love You

20698530

P.S. I Still Love You

By: Jenny Han

Pages: 337

Genre: YA Contemporary

Personal Age Rating: 15+

Rating: 3.25/5 stars

Synopsis: Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

My Review:

“You’re not my best friend, You’re my sister, and that’s more.”

My very favorite thing about To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before was the Song sisterhood, and that continued to be my favorite aspect of P.S. I Still Love You. I have also gained a persistent desire to bake, attend a 1940s party, and watch The Sound of Music. However, I found all the drama in this book highly frustrating. Everything in this book is everything I have and will always try to avoid in my high school experience. There will be spoilers ahead. Let me explain…

I really wanted to enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed TATBILB. Yes, it was still somewhat enjoyable, but PSISLY did not contain the same captivating charm that the first book in the dualogy had. PSISLY did deal with some pertinent issues that I appreciated, such as how important internet safety is and how vital it is to keep you head up when things go wrong. It also discusses how important family relationships are and that you should always put your family first, no matter what that looks like to you personally. These are the reasons I gave the book as many stars as I did, because honestly, Laura Jean and Peter were both very frustrating!

I understand the appeal to Peter, I really do. I have a soft spot for the literary bad boys like Peter, so naturally I fell for him in TATBILB. He is kind of a jerk, but that’s just who he is. However, when you are dating a girl and spending more time with your ex than you spend with her, you have to give your GF a legitimate reason why! I understand why Peter was protecting Gen’s privacy, but honestly her needed to be a little bit more communicative with Laura Jean. I would have been annoyed too! His behavior was very immature in this book, especially after the breakup. I can’t believe he actually asked her to return the necklace he gave her. Like what?!

And then John Ambrose McClaren comes along, caring, considerate, and not pushy, and Laura Jean is like: “Wow, I could really see myself liking you, but I can’t stop thinking about Peter.” And THEN she presumes to tell her sister she thinks she could be “the kind of girl who is in love with two boys at once.” Laura Jean, you can maybe like two boys at once, but not LOVE them! You need to make a choice! Honestly, I think John would have been a much better choice for her, because I can honestly only see her and Peter breaking up in the future (again) and it causing a lot of heartbreak. Also, it can only be a bad thing that Gen and Peter broke up and Gen hates Laura Jean’s guts. I think that Laura Jean needs to take a break from boys and sort out who she is as a person first before she becomes reliant on someone else. Yes, this book helped her become real, but now she needs to figure out what to do with that.

I know it seems like I hate Laura Jean, but I really don’t. I see her as a more altruistic version of myself, which is why I often want to take her by the shoulders and shake some sense into her, because I KNOW what she is capable of. And I love that she was able to come into her own a bit by the end of this book, but I just want to see more of that. I want to see more of who I know Laura Jean can be, and honestly I don’t think Peter is the right person for her to be with as she is finding herself. He takes too much away from her emotionally, and she needs someone who helps her to be a better person. Yes, he helps her step outside of her box, and I can tell he does care about her, but a relationship needs a bit more than that in my opinion. I think they should be friends for now and reevaluate their relationship before jumping right back in.

I didn’t hate this book, I guess I just had different expectations going in. I still enjoyed a lot of things about this book. Han has the uncanny ability to perfectly capture everyday life in her writing, which is something I enjoy so much about this dualogy. These are legitimate struggles teens are faced with everyday, which make these books so easy to relate to. What were your thoughts on this book? I would really like to know!

Published by

booksbybritt

certified fangirl, bibliophile, avid writer, music fanatic, vintage soul & daydreamer... 1 John 4:19

Leave a Reply

